A Review of Why Christ Came

81VslSR5TRL._SL1280_

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Why Christ Came: 31 Meditations on the Incarnation

By Joel R. Beeke and William Boekestein

 

This book was written to give Christians a greater appreciation for the Incarnation of Jesus Christ. Although the authors stated that their list is not exhaustive, they provided 31 reasons that Jesus Christ came to this earth. Each chapter begins with one or more verses that express the stated reason that Christ came to die. The chapters were short and direct, and they adequately explained one of the reasons that Jesus Christ came to die.

 

I really enjoyed this book. The authors provided Scriptures for each “reason,” which I thought was important. Each chapter title was a reason that Christ came, and each title was followed by at least one verse that showed that reason. This helped the reader understand that every reason was biblical. Also, the authors wrote in a very clear and simple way. The biblical truth was deep, but it was communicated in an understandable way. These two aspects made this book successful in my opinion.

 

I would certainly recommend this book to other Christians. Actually, I plan on using this book during the month of December as a “devotional.” Each Christmas, my wife and I usually read through a book related to the birth of Christ, and this will be the book we use this year.

 

*I received this book for free from Reformation Heritage Books via Cross Focused Reviews for this review. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “A Review of Why Christ Came

  1. […] an understandable way. These two aspects made this book successful in my opinion.” Reviewer: Jared Bumpers (jaredbumpers.wordpress.com) Rating: 5 […]

  2. […] in an understandable way. These two aspects made this book successful in my opinion.” Reviewer: Jared Bumpers (jaredbumpers.wordpress.com) Rating: 5 […]

Leave a Reply

