A New Baby!

Almost three weeks ago, my wife gave birth to a healthy baby boy! Howard Rush was 20″ long and weighed 7 lbs. and 13 oz. Children are truly a blessing from God, and I am so thankful for the newest addition to our family. As I think about the past few weeks, a few things stick out:

 

*God is good. Many couples (and many of my friends) have struggled to have children. My wife and I have been able to have children without any major difficulties, which is a blessing. Additionally, my daughter and my son are both healthy. Bottom line: God is good!

 

*Sleep is overrated. With the addition of a little one, sleep is a precious commodity. My wife definitely has it worse than I do, but we are both missing sleep. However, sleep is overrated. We will gladly sacrifice sleep for our son, because he is worth it! Besides, one of these days he will sleep through the night. This period of sleep deprivation is only temporary!

 

*Family pictures are the worst. Okay, maybe not the worst, but they are difficult with a newborn and an eighteen month old. To make things worse, we have gotten our pictures taken TWICE. That’s right, TWICE! I have only my lovely bride to thank for that, but she did give birth to our son so I guess I will let it slide.

 

*Children truly are a blessing. My wife has been busy taking care of Rush, which means I have gotten to spend even more time with McCartnie. It is so exciting to see her grow and develop her own little personality. I am reminded that children are a blessing. McCartnie is a blessing. Rush is a blessing. If God allows us to have more children, they will be a blessing!

Leave a Reply

