(Dis)Comfort Zone.

I had the opportunity to spend last week speaking to elementary-age boys. Almost 200 boys gathered at Baptist Hill in Mt. Vernon for boys camp, and I spoke to them each evening from God’s Word. Let me be completely honest here: it was one of the most challenging weeks I’ve had in a while. I was totally out of my comfort zone. I’ve spent the last 11 years in student ministry working with middle school and high school students, but there is a difference between middle school students and elementary-age boys. So it was a challenging week for me.

In spite of the challenges, however, God was gracious.  30 boys turned from their sin and put their faith in Jesus Christ! I can confidently say that God worked “in spite of me” and not “because of me” (which is true all the time!). I am grateful that God allowed me to be a part of what He is doing, and I was also reminded that God likes to get us out of our comfort zones in order to stretch us and grow us. 

Leave a Reply

